Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers has won the National League Cy Young Award.

Kershaw beat out last year's winner, Philadelphia's Roy Halladay, who came in second. Arizona's Ian Kennedy came in third.

Kershaw received 27 of 32 first-place votes, five seconds and two thirds for 207 points in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced Thursday.

With a big curveball that might be baseball's best, Kershaw won the NL's pitching triple crown. Pitching on a team that went 82-79, he led the league with a 2.28 ERA and 248 strikeouts and with a 21-5 record tied Kennedy for most wins.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

(Copyright ©2014 KABC-TV/DT. All Rights Reserved.)

Get more MLB »

los angeles dodgers, mlb
blog comments powered by Disqus