New California booster law to take effect
SACRAMENTO (KABC) -- Many new laws take effect on Jan. 1 in California, but one in particular hopes to save the lives of hundreds of thousands of children.
Starting on Sunday children under the age of 8 years old, or under 4 feet 9 inches tall, must be properly buckled into a car or booster seat, and put in the back seat.
Also, children who are 8 years old or older and not tall enough for the seat belt to fit properly must ride in a booster or car seat.
According to the California Office of Child Safety, a child fits an adult seat belt when:
- They can sit against the vehicle seat back with their knees bent without slouching and can comfortably stay in this position throughout the trip.
- The lap belt is low on the hips touching the upper thighs and the shoulder belt crosses the chest, but is not on the face or neck.
- Never let your child put the shoulder belt behind their arm or back. In a crash, the child could sustain major injuries including head and spinal cord injuries.
- If the child is putting the shoulder belt behind them, this is a sign that they still need a booster.
Previously, the law required that children remain in a booster seat until the age of 6 or weighed 60 pounds.
- Malaysia Airlines missing jet: Oil slicks found
- LAPD officer killed in Beverly Hills crash
- 3.2-magnitude earthquake hits Marina del Rey
- Salon owner charged in murder-for-hire plot
- San Juan Capistrano murders: Son arrested
- Fatal South LA fire determined suspicious
- Calif. bill would ban orcas in SeaWorld shows
- Gun hidden in sock kills woman at thrift store
- Florida mom charged with attempted murder
- Report: Ukraine base in Crimea under siege
- abcnews: Woman has 'out of body' experience at will 7 min ago
- Former NFL player Sharper to stay in jail
- Oprah gives away Essence cover dress to fan
- Photos: Aaron Paul, wife at 'Need For Speed' premiere
- 'Ransomware' holds encrypted data for money
15 min ago