New booster seat law begins January 1
SAN MATEO, Calif. -- A new child safety law effective Jan. 1 will require kids in California to use a booster seat in a vehicle until they are 8 years old, according to the state's Department of Public Health.
A previous state law required car seats or booster seats for kids until they were 6 years old or weighed 60 pounds.
"This new law will help protect more children from being injured during a crash," said Patrice Christensen, a registered nurse and coordinator of the San Mateo County Emergency Medical Services injury prevention program.
Kids aged 8 years and older are ready to ride without a booster seat when the child can sit against the back of a vehicle seat with knees bent, without slouching and can comfortably stay in that position.
The lap belt should also be low on the hips and touch the upper thighs with the shoulder belt crossing the shoulder and chest without touching the child's face or neck.
Drivers who are caught not complying with the new state law can face fines starting at $475.
For information on the new law or for help determining if a child still needs a booster seat, call Patrice Christensen at (650) 573-3728, contact a local California Highway Patrol office or go online at www.cdph.ca.gov/vosp.
san mateo, children, california news
- Two men shot, killed on I-880 in Oakland ID'd
- Photos released of suspect in violent SJ carjacking
- Police say realignment may be cause of crime spike
- Longshoreman killed after truck falls into water
- FEMA to fund removal of trees from East Bay Hills
- Steve Wozniak to give Cal commencement speech
- Conn. commuter trains collide; 60 go to hospitals
- Italian team calls for better safety for America's Cup
- Grenade found in San Jose garage detonated safely
- Report: Yahoo nearing $1.1B acquisition of Tumblr
- Get Free Stuff: Purse, nail kit, comedy show
- abcnews: Rumor: Beyonce pregnant with 2nd child
- roundup: Officer-involved shooting; Bay to Breakers
- weather: Bay Area weather forecast for Saturday