Gov. considers bill to increase "hands-free" fines
SACRAMENTO (KGO) -- Governor Jerry Brown must now decide if the fines for breaking California's "hands-free" law will go up. The state Senate has passed a bill that raises fines for drivers caught using handheld phones or texting behind the wheel.
The base fine will go up from 20 to 30 dollars for first time violators. But the total fine will run about $199 when counties add in various fees.
The governor vetoed a similar law last year.
jerry brown, sacramento, smartphones, california news
- Castro Valley man a person of interest in wife's death
- Memorial bench to honor missing teen Sierra LaMar
- CA Republican Party holds convention in Burlingame 39 min ago
- Union says fewer teachers facing layoffs in California
- Dad accused of biting infant's nose to be arraigned
- Fundraiser for victims of Indonesia volcano eruption 58 min ago
- Thieves steal gas station ATM in Sonoma County 23 min ago
- Fire destroys home, displaces 15 residents in Richmond
- Honda recalling 886,815 Odyssey minivans
- Over $7,000 raised for police dog battling cancer
- Online naming contest open for trails at Glen Canyon
- Photos: Meet the stars where you live
- roundup: Most Wanted suspect; Sierra LaMar bench
- weather: Bay Area weather forecast for Sunday 26 min ago
- Bay Area weather forecast for Sunday
24 min ago
- Police visit homes of missing jetliner's...
18 min ago
Most Viewed StoriesMost Viewed Photos