Few NJ teens comply with driver decal law
PARSIPPANY, N.J. -- Few New Jersey teen drivers are complying with the nation's first law that requires them to display decals on their license plates.
Fewer than one in four had purchased decals when the new law went into effect on Saturday.
State Motor Vehicle Commission spokesman Michael Horan says 59,537 pairs had been sold.
At least 250,000 drivers are required to display the detachable decals. The decals help police enforce restrictions on first-time drivers, which limit the number of passengers they can carry and the hours they can drive.
Violators could face a $100 fine.
A few state Assembly Republicans plan to introduce a bill that would rescind the decal requirement. Opponents say the law subjects motorists to nuisance traffic stops and might entice criminals to target young drivers.
new jersey, automobile, legal, local news, jen maxfield
- Amanda Bynes released after court appearance
- AccuWeather Forecast: Rain continues
- Eyewitness News Live
- WATCH ABC is available to Channel 7 viewers
- Teen heading to prom dies in car accident
- 2nd murder conviction in death of cop Peter Figoski
- 'Unusual condition' seen before Metro North crash
- 3 hurt when I-5 bridge collapses into Wash. river 1 min ago
- Jersey shore reopens for 1st post-Sandy summer
- A-Rod sells home and makes $15 Million profit 8 min ago
- abcnews: Hurricane season could be 'extremely active'
- Photos: Circle 7 at GMA's Summer Concert Series
- Photos: I-5 Skagit River Bridge collapse
- Photos: Flash flooding in the New York area
- 3 hurt when I-5 bridge collapses into Wash....
1 min ago
Most Viewed StoriesMost Viewed VideoMost Viewed Photos