Assembly panel to consider ban on underage tanning
TRENTON, N.J. - May 14, 2012 (WPVI) -- New Jersey lawmakers are set to consider a measure that would bar anyone under 18 from using tanning beds.
The measure will go before the Assembly's Women and Children Committee on Monday.
A 2006 state law bans tanning bed use by anyone under 14, and requires written parental consent for those ages 14 to 17.
The issue has seen renewed interest after a Nutley woman was accused this month of taking her 5-year-old daughter into a tanning booth. That allegedly resulted in burns to the child's skin, and the woman has pleaded not guilty to child endangerment.
A similar measure was approved by a state Assembly panel and the full Senate last year.
California and Vermont are the only states that now ban tanning for children under age 18.
new jersey, teens, local/state
- Woman convicted in fiance's wedding day death 8 min ago
- Spotty, Drenching Downpours
- WATCH: Action News Online
- WATCH ABC is available in Philadelphia!
- Boy Scouts approve plan to accept openly gay boys 43 min ago
- Ramsey speaks on police involved deadly shootings
- Jurors deadlock on Jodi Arias penalty 42 min ago
- 8 charged in $14M drug operation in SE Pa.
- Missing Skippack student found in North Carolina
- Bus co. mistake disrupts kids' DC field trip
- New details released in NJ liquor swapping
- Chase Utley out 2-4 weeks with oblique strain 29 min ago
- Obama to tour Jersey Shore with Gov. Christie 39 min ago
- Down At The Shore