2,500 cited under Del. cell phone ban
DOVER, Del. (AP) - May 1, 2011 (WPVI) -- The Delaware Office of Highway Safety says more than 2,500 drivers have been cited since the state's hands-free cell phone law went into effect at the beginning of the year.
Office spokeswoman Alison Kirk says more than 350 people were issued cell phone citations in one day during a statewide crackdown on April 21. She says there have been 30 crashes involving cell phones as a distraction.
Cell phone users caught talking on their phones can expect a $50 ticket for their first offense, but after court costs the total can be more than $100. Subsequent offenses can result in fines between $100 and $200.
There are no points for a cell phone violation.
Information from: Delaware State News
delaware, cell phones, driving, traffic
- NJ forest fire threatens homes; evacuations ordered
- Winds Ease Overnight 27 min ago
- Get the 6abc StormTracker app
- WATCH: Action News Online
- Wedding crashers caught on camera 7 min ago
- Forest fire up to 1500 acres in Cumberland Co.
- 2 attempted lurings near Upper Merion school 33 min ago
- 1 dead in shooting near Widener University
- Package prompts evacuation in Evesham
- Photos: Suspects wanted by Philadelphia Police
- 3 American doctors killed in Afghanistan
- Family escapes burning home in Bucks Co.
- Photos: National Pretzel Day Art & Fun Facts
- School stops serving Mountain Dew before tests
- Winds Ease Overnight
27 min ago